Staaten der EU

„States of the EU: HUNGARY “

The Republic of Hungary (Magyar Köztársaság) is situated in the east of Central Europe, salvaged in the Pannonian Basin. Hungary borders with Austria and Slovenia in the west, with Croatia and Serbia in the south and with Romania in the east. Its northern neighbours are the Ukraine and Slovakia. Hungary has over 10 millions of inhabitants and an area of 93.000 square kilometres. Thus, it is a little larger than Austria. 90% of the population are Hungarians, Magyars, 5% are Romanies, the rest includes Serbs, Slovaks, Ruthenes and Germans.